Excited for final wipe but seems like a catch 22

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Korim Rackham, Feb 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Korim Rackham

Korim Rackham Avatar

Hello,

Im sure im going to get attacked for this post. But im not in anyway trying to be disparaging of SOTA because i am truly still excited for the final product. However, i feel like if coming up on a final wipe is any indication that game is nearing its initial release version, im not so sure im looking forward to it at this point and time.

First of all i only started playing back in October 2015 so im not nearly as vested as alot of people here are, so maybe that is why i am so open to saying the product isnt that great in its current state(which i do understand is still ALPHA), sure i got a few upgraded pledges but nothing serious.

Personally i feel like the game lacks any kind of real soul or uniqueness at this point. Sure its fun when its new, but the depth just doesnt seem to be there. There are neat features, and the community is great but the game play itself? its MEH at best as of the current state. Since i started playing SOTA i have spent some time each week in game doing things, but not alot of time like i may in a fully released game. I managed to burn myself out already.

I hear alot of people compare the game to UO2 which i get with the develoment team, but can anyone truly say this experience has been as good as UO? Maybe you can, maybe you cant either way its going to boil down to personal experience. In my opinion this game is nothing like UO minus the fact there arent any set templates, and id almost venture to say your forced to pick up more skills in SOTA then you ever were in UO (Healing magic is a great example of this). In fact i may just go ahead and re up my UO sub this month until a later release of the game because even with the near dead servers i have 1000x more fun playing that at this point.