Greetings! New Player here!

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by BogusMeatFactory, Oct 30, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BogusMeatFactory

BogusMeatFactory Avatar

Hello everyone! I just started playing SotA after following it's progress and deciding to take the plunge! I am absolutely loving it as I progress through the overall storyline.

A little bit about myself. I've been a game for over 30 years, cutting my console teeth on the Atari 2600 and starting my computer gaming exploits on the Apple IIGS. Video games have always been a hobby that I treasure, with an extra special relationship with games that offer great world building and emotional storytelling.

I was a big fan of Ultima starting with Ultima 7. I always loved the idea of Ultima Online, but I was still too young for my parents to commit to a monthly fee. Instead, my older brothers had everquest accounts that they let me dabble in (and many many many other mmos).

I am a very accepting person when it comes to people's preferences. I love all games even if I personally am not good at them. I also love helping folks and making them feel comfortable with socializing. I am and always will be a social gamer. It started with playing with my older brothers and evolved into hosting lan parties for diablo 2, counterstrike and much much more. There is something about being a part of and enriching a community that is thrilling.

I still love the oldschool sandbox style MMO and that is one of the reasons why I gravitated to SotA. This old school mentality with more modern design definitely is a positive. I personally love interacting with the npcs. Lots of good writing and interesting lore. I literally have spent more than half my time talking to npcs, learning new emotes and feeling the, "Gotta catch em all," mentality of learning everyone's names.