My Feedback from 2 hours of play

Discussion in 'New Player Experience Feedback' started by GrandpaDJ, Dec 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrandpaDJ

GrandpaDJ Avatar

I rea;lly enjoy the concept of the game and want to like it, probably even more since so many people are unhappy with it. I am an older MMO vet but knew nothing about SotA before starting.

Pros:
    Beautiful game
    Immersive

Cons:
    I have no idea what I am supposed to be doing or what i CAN be doing (which is the bigger problem)
    Map seems pretty worthless
    Most information needed to play for newbies is gained outside the game

My example: Went through the intro instance and made my character very cool and different! Start playing at the battle and talking to people, still good. Get on the cart and go to the Outskirts - still ok. Now I'm at this cathedral/refuge camp with no idea what I CAN do. I have a quest to deliver an amulet to someone I don't know someplace I have no idea where. I talked to a witch and went into the steeple but can't find anyone to give me more info about what's going on up there. I run around and talk to everyone (since it doesn't seem to tell me if someone has something interesting to say - so talk to everyone) but make so progress. I asked in chat for ideas and no response.

Summary: Tons of potential but way too much work for a game that has such a huge negative cloud over it (P2W, kickstarter, promises, and stuff). Now, I may be doing it completely wrong :) But that was my experience. I REALLY loved the intro and I enjoy sandboxes. But if you are going to do things different from the norm, players need to at least know WHAT THEY CAN DO, even if they don't know quite how to do it yet. If I'm missing something completely obvious that will help me enjoy the game, please let me know as I'm very willing to learn. I'm just not going to watch youtube videos and read wikis all day so I can figure out what to do...

2. Bayard

Bayard Avatar