Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

My first few hours

Discussion in 'Release 26 Feedback Forum' started by Whalefish, Feb 20, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Whalefish

Whalefish Avatar

I'm a total noob to sota. I played a bit some old release and didn't like it, especially movement was crap. So now I checked it out again at R26.

1st login:

I create my character.
    Okay, there are soo few options for the head customization... well, I can change stuff, but only like 1 option looks natural. I believe more will be added later.

I go to the rock in space. Everything looks amazing. The shadows when the sun moves a bit behind the floating rock.
    But why isn't the sun moving around, is the time frozen or what?
    I talk to the girl. Finally I find the right keyword to answer the questions. I like this. Feels like old ultimas. I hope in future there will be more choices than just 3... From what I've read, there will be 3 plot lines, but maybe give us more options to beging with?

Ok, I end up in Battle of Solace Bridge and took my path as a ranger. Combat feels ok. I clear the starting area quickly and go to Soltown. I skip the refugees in the camp and head to town. Soon I realize I get the names of npc's to show as I ask their names.
    However, asking their names they lose their title. How I now know who is the merchant and who is the bard?
    Also, knowing which building is what was a bit confusing.
    Just to compare to UO (taking it out as example as it's familiar with many I believe), you could see a sign outside every building which tells what it is. I didn't see any of these, or there were no distinguishing icon on them. Or then just make them pop out more if there was.

It all felt a bit confusing. I found out about the quests, but then later it was a bit difficult to remember where the npc was who gave me the quest.