Other People in Private Mode?

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by Bedawyn, May 6, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bedawyn

Bedawyn Avatar

How is Private/Party Mode supposed to work?

Sorry to keep posting in New Players, but it will be a while yet before I have access to a credit card to buy anything, which is required before I can post in the proper forum. And this is a newbie question, so...

I'm still trying to figure out a way to make the online game work for me, though I've been playing offline for a couple months. But I just can't figure out how to make it manageable with other avatars in the same scene.

This isn't about the forced-multiplayer in towns or the overworld, that's just the way it is, I've got to live with it. I can deal with that.

But I thought Private Mode was supposed to make at least adventure zones into a single-player version? But in Private Mode, even in adventure zones, I'm still seeing other players. I still have to turn down friend requests and party invites from strangers who didn't even say hello. I still see the broken crates everywhere where other people have gotten to all the stuff first. So what's private about it?

Other players become invisible when they use a crafting station, but I can still hear their sound effects. When I switch from private to party mode, the people become invisible but I can still hear their sound effects and can still see them fighting the monsters that I won't be able to because they got there first. My gut says that HAS to be a bug, but there's plenty of other things that are counterintuitive to me about the way this game is played, and it's such a major thing I can't believe it wouldn't have been reported and fixed already if it was a bug.

So what DOES become private in private mode? And how does anyone manage to achieve anything in private mode when you're still sharing monsters and loot with everybody else?

2. Kaizen Strava

Kaizen Strava Avatar