New Player (10-20 hours-ish (I lost track of time)) :)

Discussion in 'New Player Experience Feedback' started by moxiepilot, Dec 25, 2017.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moxiepilot

moxiepilot Avatar

So here's my take and walk through of my initial experiences:

TLDR Version:
    I am thrilled to be playing the game, but there are some important components which are buggy and need to be fixed prior to launch. Foe example, not having moving maps align with character world placement is an issue. For someone who doesn't have hours of playing in a town or place, that map is crucial to navigation.

Heeeeere's Moxie!
    First, here's a bit of my background (to give you an idea of my lack of computer knowledge, and as a baseline for comparison to your target demographics):

I was around 9 years old when Dad bought our first computer, the original IBM PC. He got busy working on LOTUS 1-2-3 and I started learning BASIC. But what really interested me was playing games, games like Zork, Castle Wolfenstein, Wizardry, Lode Runner, and Star Fleet I. We moved a lot and my parents didn't get along too well, so this gave me an escape to immerse myself in the computer worlds crafted by skilled programmers, visionaries, musicians and the like.

Shortly after the releases of the games I played, I came across Ultima III and then it was all over for me. I still have the original box, map and floppy disks...

One of the first things I had to beg my Dad for was extra RAM. I'm not sure how I did it, but we ended up going to the local computer store, popping off the shell and installing enough RAM to have the newest games up and running on the fancy thinkin' box.