Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

Speed on overland map

Discussion in 'Release 19 Feedback' started by Satan Himself, Jun 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Satan Himself

Satan Himself Avatar

Broken record but ....... why are you torturing us? Please speed it up. Thanks.

EDIT: OK, so when I started playing R19 I was in the Hidden Vale. I had a constant, very slow, walking speed whether I was on the road or elsewhere. Now I'm in Novia and the speed is good and varies by terrain. So I don't know whether that's a system issue, or a game issue.

Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
  2. Chris

Chris Tech Lord Moderator Ambassador SOTA Developer

Ok, so how long would you like it to take to cross the map? Currently it is under 5 minutes to cross the map.

Also, just to be clear, in the long run the largest travel time sink will probably be encounters, not walking.

3. JDGamers

JDGamers Avatar

I think the issue is not necessarily the speed, but that you will randomly slow down to a snails pace. Why can't you just always run?

4. Satan Himself

Satan Himself Avatar

I dunno, twice as fast as the current speed? Not roadrunner fast, but speedwalking fast.

I understand it doesn't take long to cross the map. Because the map is small. Which is OK as long as it has sufficient content. And the content is growing and will continue to do so.

I don't understand why because we have a relatively small map, we must therefore adjust the speed to super-slow to make the map seem bigger. It's artificial, and IMO it detracts substantially from game play.

Ice Queen, Chatele, Beli and 2 others like this.
  5. Abydos

Abydos Avatar

For me, it is now too fast. Imagine when we ll have horses.

Hermetic likes this.
  6. Satan Himself

Satan Himself Avatar

When will that be, I wonder. Meantime we should snail around until we have horses?

Beli and Ice Queen like this.
  7. Browncoat Jayson

Browncoat Jayson Legend of the Hearth