Suggestion: How to make NPCs answer most questions intelligently

Discussion in 'Avatars & NPCs' started by Truthveyor, Dec 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Truthveyor

Truthveyor Avatar

I have been playing the Ultimas since the 1980's. First, I want to thank Richard Garriott for making great games. Second, I want to make a suggestion on how to make NPCs talk more intelligently:

Currently, unless specific keywords are mentioned by the player, the NPCs will say things like, "If you say so," or "I don't understand." In other words, the NPCs are really dumb.

Imagine if the NPCs can answer most of the players' questions intelligently, wouldn't it be a better game? For example, if you ask an NPC, "Where can I buy reagents?" He will say, "Go to the vendor at the market square east of here." Or, you ask an NPC, "Have you been to the Chamber of Souls?" The NPC answers, "No, I haven't, but I'd love to."

The question is how to implement this kind of responses. Using AI? Maybe, but here is a suggestion.

HOW TO IMPLEMENT

Basic premise: Most players' questions or comments will be similar, so, even though theoretically there are infinite questions or comments players can make to NPCs, in practice the vast majority of them will be similar or the same.

1. Before the General Release date of Sota, whenever the conversation parser does not understand a player's input, allow the player to type in a suggested a response to the question. For example, let's say the player types in, "Where can I buy plate mail?" The response can be, "I do not understand your question. (Click here to suggest an appropriate response to this question.)

2. Ask for volunteers from the community to review suggested responses. Form a team of volunteers for conversation approval. Call them Conversation Reviewers.

3. Any player suggested response is given to at least two Conversation Reviewers to review.