Author Archives: Berek

Berek

About Berek

Senior Community Manager for Shroud of the Avatar.

Weekly Lot Selection Report – Knight and Knight Marshal, Edelmann, and Citizen Groups


Lot Selection is underway! This is your group-by-group weekly update on which pledge tiers have already claimed lots, and which groups are about to be able to secure a lot yet this week. Check out the list below to see if your group is coming up!

Interested in upgrading your pledge to claim sooner? You can! Just go to your Account settings and click on the Pledges menu tab.

NEW GROUPS SELECTING LOTS THIS WEEK

Knight and Knight Marshal: Groups 37-45:

  • Royal Founder – Group 37: August 8 at 03:00 CDT (08:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 38: August 8 at 08:00 CDT (13:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 39: August 8 at 13:00 CDT (18:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 40: August 8 at 18:00 CDT (23:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 41: August 8 at 23:00 CDT (August 9 at 04:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 42: August 9 at 04:00 CDT (09:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 43: August 9 at 09:00 CDT (14:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 44: August 9 at 14:00 CDT (19:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 45: August 9 at 19:00 CDT (August 10 at 00:00 UTC)

EDELMANN: Groups 46-54:

  • Royal Founder – Group 46: August 10 at 19:00 CDT (August 11 at 00:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 47: August 11 at 00:00 CDT (05:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 48: August 11 at 05:00 CDT (10:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 49: August 11 at 10:00 CDT (15:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 50: August 11 at 15:00 CDT (20:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 51: August 11 at 20:00 CDT (August 12 at 01:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 52: August 12 at 01:00 CDT (06:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 53: August 12 at 06:00 CDT (11:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 54: August 12 at 11:00 CDT (16:00 UTC)

CITIZEN: Groups 55-63:

  • Royal Founder – Group 55: August 13 at 11:00 CDT (16:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 56: August 13 at 16:00 CDT (21:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 57: August 13 at 21:00 CDT (August 14 at 02:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 58: August 14 at 02:00 CDT (07:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 59: August 14 at 07:00 CDT (12:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 60: August 14 at 12:00 CDT (17:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 61: August 14 at 17:00 CDT (22:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 62: August 14 at 22:00 CDT (August 15 at 03:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 63: August 15 at 03:00 CDT (08:00 UTC)

More group times are listed in the Lot Selection announcement on the main website. The last group will be Group 91 on August 24 at 03:00 CDT (08:00 UTC). After all group times have passed, anyone will have a chance to place a lot.

To get daily lot selection updates, follow the game on Twitter at www.twitter.com/shroudofavatar, or keep the above Lot Selection announcement bookmarked for easy access!


‘Dawn of New Britannia’ Community Trailer Contest


Get those eye popping trailer ideas ready, Avatars! This is your chance to show that Shroud of the Avatar is both the game, and community, that new players will want to experience next! The ‘Dawn of New Britannia Community Trailer Contest’ kicks off today!

You have from August 4, 2016 (Now) to August 21, 2016 (11:59 PM CDT) to design a video trailer for all New Britannians to see and admire. Glamorous city districts, creative player-owned towns, luxurious housing, intense combat, majestic outdoor areas, and so much more is available to proudly show off. There’s a nearly infinite potential in creating a trailer that makes even the most hardy New Britannia cry in joy, and to want to share the video with others.

Below are the details of this contest, including what you can win when creating an amazing video!

WINNERS & PRIZES

Trailers will be judged by a team at Portalarium on the following merits:

  • Keeping to the Shroud of the Avatar world (Only SotA footage, audio, or your own (free/non-copyrighted) assets)
  • Overall originality and artistic flair (Don’t overdo it! Simplicity can work wonders)
  • Diversity of in-game areas presented (Outside scenes, inside homes, dungeons, etc.!)
  • Overall flow from opening scenes, buildup of in-game footage, and end scene
  • Seamless transitions, consistency, and smooth gameplay throughout
  • Will it make a fan shed a tear in joy? Brownie points here!

Check out these great prizes for designing a great trailer!

  • Grand Prize: $1,000 Store Credit, SotA signed t-shirt, Sword of Midras book, SotA COTOs coin, and a specially signed congratulations letter from Richard Garriott.
  • 2nd Place: $500 Store Credit, SotA signed t-shirt, Sword of Midras book, SotA COTOs coin
  • 3rd Place: $250 Store Credit, SotA signed t-shirt, Sword of Midras book, SotA COTOs coin

All Other Submissions: Everyone else that submits an eligible and feature complete trailer will have theirs included in a contest playlist on the official Portalarium YouTube channel for proudly submitting their work.

Final entries and winners will be mentioned and possibly shown in the upcoming summer telethon on August 22nd! Keep watch on the main website for details on the telethon.

Read more…


Weekly Lot Selection Report – Lords of the Manor, Duke, Baron, Lord and Lord Marshal Groups


Lot Selection is underway! This is your group-by-group weekly update on which pledge tiers have already claimed lots, and which groups are about to be able to secure a lot yet this week. Check out the list below to see if your group is coming up!

Interesting in upgrading your peldge to claim sooner? You can! Just go to your Account settings and click on the Pledges menu tab.

GROUPS ABLE TO CLAIM AS OF AUGUST 1

  • Lords of the Manor, Groups 1-9
  • Duke, Groups 10-18

GROUPS COMING UP THIS WEEK

Baron: Groups 19-27:

  • Royal Founder – Group 19: August 2 at 19:00 CDT (August 3 at 00:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 20: August 3 at 00:00 CDT (05:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 21: August 3 at 05:00 CDT (10:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 22: August 3 at 10:00 CDT (15:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 23: August 3 at 15:00 CDT (20:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 24: August 3 at 20:00 CDT (August 4 at 01:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 25: August 4 at 01:00 CDT (06:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 26: August 4 at 06:00 CDT (11:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 27: August 4 at 11:00 CDT (16:00 UTC)

Lord and Lord Marshal: Groups 28-36:

  • Royal Founder – Group 28: August 5 at 11:00 CDT (16:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 29: August 5 at 16:00 CDT (21:00 UTC)
  • Royal Founder – Group 30: August 5 at 21:00 CDT (August 6 at 02:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 31: August 6 at 02:00 CDT (07:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 32: August 6 at 07:00 CDT (12:00 UTC)
  • Founder – Group 33: August 6 at 12:00 CDT (17:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 34: August 6 at 17:00 CDT (22:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 35: August 6 at 22:00 CDT (August 7 at 03:00 UTC)
  • Benefactor – Group 36: August 7 at 03:00 CDT (08:00 UTC)

More group times are listed in the Lot Selection announcement on the main website. The last group will be Group 91 on August 24 at 03:00 CDT (08:00 UTC). After all group times have passed, anyone will have a chance to place a lot.

To get daily lot selection updates, follow the game on Twitter at www.twitter.com/shroudofavatar, or keep the above Lot Selection announcement bookmarked for easy access!


Update of the Avatar #186 – 2016.07.22: Xenos Reborn, More Brittany Housing, Renovating Spite, SotA Makes 2016 RPG List, New Bundle Store, and More!


Greetings Fellow Avatars!

Here’s what we have for you in this week’s edition of Update of the Avatar:


Xenos Reborn

Xenos (like Spite) started as another cloned scene using one of our PRT / POT templates based off of the Forest 01 base template (aka PaxLair). It is getting a complete rebuild from scratch this release and will go live with Release 32. Note that scenes that we un-clone after the Final Wipe will NOT get this level of rework, and building placements and lot placements in those towns will remain unchanged; only cosmetic changes of building styles, terrain, and foliage will be made.

[From a Dev+ Forum Post by Richard “RrMatey” Matey]

Hi guys,

Wanted to give you guys a quick update on Xenos. This area is important because this is where you need to hitch a ride to Artifice. But to get on board, you need to win the lottery first. So good luck!

Xenos1

Read more…


Recap’s Pronoia Album – Listen Party This Weekend


//d2sx9mrt4zumaq.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/pronoia_release_party.jpg

The First Listen Party for Pronoia! The second Album from the Space Bards / Recap Band

Avatars Radio along with The Caverns are proud to announce the first listen party on July 22-23, starting at 10pm NBT (CDT). Tune in to Avatars Radio and join us in game at the Isle of Ghosts!

Schedule:

10-11pm NBT: Hangout with the Bards on Avatars Radio for some rabble

11pm NBT: Listen to the entire album from start to finish

After the Album is finished, hang around with Dom John, Dan Span, and Steven Goldman!

Listen In:

Details and discussion of the event in the Community Forums.


Hangout of the Avatar ~ Release 31 Postmortem


ReliquaryJoin us Thursday, July 7th at 3:00 PM Central (20:00 UTC) for our monthly Hangout of the Avatar! The team will be chatting about Release 31 and looking ahead to Release 32 (important updates coming this week on R32!).

And of note, let it be known that Lord British and Lord Darkstarr will play host to a special reliquary event… and blood will be spilled! Consider the squeamish among you forewarned.

As always, we will be giving out awesome swag, and answering your questions. For a chance to win a prize, join Discord chat during the broadcast. Be sure to stick around throughout the Hangout for multiple chances to win!

Tweet with us @ShroudofAvatar during the Hangout to know when a winner has been announced!

Watch here at 3pm CDT on Thursday, July 7th:

Post your questions in the comments below! Only one post submission allowed, and keep questions to 3 or less! This will allow us to get to as many players as possible.

Please keep in mind that questions and feedback related to this release’s specific topics will be given priority and really verbose questions may be skipped, as they can be a challenge to shorten and summarize live on the air. In brief… please keep your questions… brief.

Thank you!


Update of the Avatar #181 – 2016.06.17: Brittany Estates, Multiple Sclerosis Charity Drive, Pledge States, Sword of Midras Audio Sample, and More!


Greetings Fellow Avatars!

Here’s what we have for you in this week’s edition of Update of the Avatar:


The Making of Brittany Estates

NOTE: Brittany Estates is primarily comprised of City sized lots and is scheduled to go live in Release 32.

[From a Dev+ Forum Post by Richard “RrMatey” Matey]

Hey guys back again to keep you posted on the progress of another Brittany neighborhood. Brittany Estates is a gated community with lovely scenery and magnificent gardens. A great place to settle down and find that house or castle of your dreams.

9qZ6l4e[1]

Read more…


Update of the Avatar #180 – 2016.06.10: Pre-Order Sword of Midras Novel, HoBLotH III Recap, Phoenix Republic’s Royal Warrant, Confluence Chamber, Xounts SotA Special, and More!


Greetings Fellow Avatars!

Here’s what we have for you in this week’s edition of Update of the Avatar:


Pre-Order Now: The Sword of Midras SotA Novel for Hardcover, Kindle, Nook and Audiobook

SwordofMidras_BookCover

The Sword of Midras, by Tracy Hickman and Richard Garriott, is a revised and expanded version of the Blade of the Avatar novel (originally included in pledge rewards through May 31, 2015). The expanded The Sword of Midras includes four additional chapters not seen in the pledge reward version of Blade of the Avatar, extending and elaborating on key elements of the story.

The release date is June 21, 2016 by Tor Books. The Hardcover, Kindle, and Nook, versions are available for pre-order now at Amazon and Barnes & Noble. Release date for the unabridged audiobook version is July 12, 2016 with pre-orders available now at Audible.com.

Read more…


Portalarium Attends HoBLotH III


Last week was amazing in Austin for both Portalarium and the SotA community! Many on our team had the pleasure of attending HoBLotH III, which stands for Hearth of Britannia: Lifeblood of the Hearth. The event generated a huge amount of activity for over five days at Castleton Village near the office.

Dancing, storytelling, and LARPing quests and contests occurred throughout each day with many events extending well into the evenings. Tuesday was the official kick-off day with the real fun beginning on Wednesday with a bunch of quests that included testing one’s knowledge of Britannia, a scavenger hunt, fishing, and fighting for valor in LARP combat!

COMMUNITY EVENTS


Read more…


Hangout of the Avatar ~ Release 30 Postmortem


Screenshot by SabeSr

Join us Wednesday, June 1st at 3:00 PM Central (20:00 GMT) for our monthly Hangout of the Avatar! Richard, Starr, and Chris will be chatting about Release 30 and looking ahead to Release 31, as well as starting to talk about the impeding R32!

In an exciting twist to the normal flow of the livestream, the new community manager, Mathew “Berek” Anderson, is set to spice things up by not only taking your questions and feedback live in the chat-room and also in advance right here in the comments section, but will be on the livestream in the office with Starr and Chris!*

We will be giving out some really awesome prizes during the livestream. All you have to do to qualify for one is to come hang out with us in the IRC chatroom during the broadcast. Be sure to join us throughout the livestream for multiple chances to win cool Shroud of the Avatar swag!

Watch here at 3pm CST on Wednesday, June 1st:

*Please keep in mind that questions and feedback related to this release’s specific topics will be given priority and really verbose questions may be skipped, as they can be a challenge to shorten and summarize live on the air. In brief… please keep your questions… brief.

Only one post submission allowed! If you have multiple questions (please keep it to 5 or less), place them into that one post. This will allow us to get to as many players as possible. Thank you!